HomeContact Us

Contact Us

FREQUENTLY REQUESTED PHONE NUMBERS/EMAILS

Undergraduate Student Affairs (949) 824-5318
Campus Facilities Help Desk (949) 824-5444
Computing (949) 824-3555 or bcshelp@uci.edu
ImageWorks (949) 824-6414 or imageworks@uci.edu
Giving (949) 824-4428 or robert.avalos@uci.edu
Website Questions biowebinfo@uci.edu
Dean’s Office (949) 824-5315

ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES

OFFICE OF THE DEAN 5120 NS 2 – ZOT 1450
Name Title Phone Email
Frank LaFerla Dean (949) 824-5315 laferla@uci.edu
Benedicte Shipley Assistant Dean (949) 824-5558 bshipley@uci.edu
Vicki Thomas Executive Assistant to the Dean (949) 824-5315 vlthomas@uci.edu
FAX (949) 824-1700
Conference Room 5133 NS II (949) 824-9903
Associate Deans
Name Title Phone Email
Michael Leon Undergraduate Studies (949) 824-5343 mleon@uci.edu
Michael Mulligan Graduate Studies (949) 824-8433 rmmullig@uci.edu
David Gardiner Research & Academic Affairs (949) 824-2792 dmgardin@uci.edu
BUILDING MANAGEMENT 5211 NS 2 – ZOT 1450
Name Title Phone Email
Trouble Calls (all buildings) (949) 824-5444 (Campus help desk)
Robyn Stiffler Bio Sci Building Management Director (949) 824-8284 rstiffle@uci.edu
Heather Lane Principle Facilities Analyst (949) 824-7214 hllane@uci.edu
FAX (949) 824-7407
COMPUTING 2115 NS 1 – ZOT 1450
Name Title Phone Email
Matthew Martinez IT Director (949) 824-8832 mrm@uci.edu
Eric Sanchez Network Administrator (949) 824-8485 ebsanche@uci.edu
David Krueger Imageworks (949) 824-4631 dkrueger@uci.edu
Karl Cannon Programmer Analyst I (949) 824-0482 kcannon@uci.edu
Help Desk (949) 824-3555 bcshelp@uci.edu
FAX (949) 824-4291
Website http://comp.bio.uci.edu
FINANCE 5120 NS 2 – ZOT 1450
Name Title Phone Email
Yuanshun Chen Director (949) 824-4247 ychen@uci.edu
Kara McClyde Principal Financial Analyst (949) 824-6036 k.mcclyde@uci.edu
Caryn Bender Senior Financial Analyst (949) 824-2151 cbender@uci.edu
Chiayu (Claire) Wen Senior Financial Analyst  (949) 824-7398 chiayw1@uci.edu
Zaw Maung Financial Analyst (949) 824-5340 ztmaung@uci.edu
FAX (949) 824-1700
PERSONNEL 5120 NS 2 – ZOT 1450
Name Title Phone Email
Kristen Caplin Personnel Director (949) 824-5467 kcaplin@uci.edu
Sarah McCarthy Senior Personnel Analyst (949) 824-2797 samccart@uci.edu
Laurie Andress-Delaney Personnel Analyst (949)824-7062 landress@uci.edu
Darla Becker Personnel Analyst  (949)824-9266 beckerd@uci.edu
Genie Lauria Personnel Analyst (949) 824-8174 eugenie@uci.edu
Christine Shortt Personnel Analyst (949) 824-2753 cshortt@uci.edu
FAX (949) 8244-1700

DEPARTMENTS

DEVELOPMENTAL & CELL BIOLOGY 2011 BS 3 – ZOT 2300
Name Title Phone Email
Thomas Schilling Chair (949) 824-2458 tschilli@uci.edu
Kavita Arora Vice Chair (949) 824-1087 karora@uci.edu
Andrea Wiley Department Administrator (949) 824-4706 wileya@uci.edu
Megan Vu Sr. Financial Analyst/C&G Admin. (949) 824-3489 vum@uci.edu
Michelle O’Brien Finance Analyst (949) 824-9869 mmobrien@uci.edu
Finance Analyst (949) 824-4710
Yu-Ling (Grace) Kuei Payroll/Personnel Coordinator (949) 824-4707 ykuei@uci.edu
Aimee Edinger Grad Adviser (949) 824-1921 aedinger@uci.edu
Lindsay Malter Purchasing/Graduate Program Admin (949) 824-1969 lmalter@uci.edu
FAX (949) 824-4709
Website http://devcell.bio.uci.edu
ECOLOGY & EVOLUTIONARY BIOLOGY 321 SH – ZOT 2525
Name Title Phone Email
Laurence Mueller Chair (949) 824-4744 ldmuelle@uci.edu
Kathleen Treseder Vice Chair (949) 824-7634 treseder@uci.edu
Marissa Reyes Department Administrator (949) 824-6008 mrreyes@uci.edu
Carmen Bastos Senior Finance Analyst Supervisor (949) 824-4772 cbastos@uci.edu
Sarah McCarthy Sr. Personnel Analyst (949) 824-2797 samccart@uci.edu
Irma Rodriguez Sr. Financial Analyst (949) 824-1287 mprodrig@uci.edu
Marcus Umali Financial Analyst (949) 824-4776 mumali@uci.edu
Denise Chilcote Admin. Analyst (Ayala) (949) 824-8294 dbchilco@uci.edu
Anu Nanjappa Graduate Affairs & Department Coordinator (949) 824-4743 ananjapp@uci.edu
Bradford Hawkins Graduate Adviser/Professor (949) 824-5384 bhawkins@uci.edu
Thelma Castro Purchasing Coordinator (949) 824-5791 tcastro@uci.edu
Tina Romero Department Specialist (949) 824-6006 romerot@uci.edu
FAX (949) 824-2181
Website http://ecoevo.bio.uci.edu
MOLECULAR BIOLOGY & BIOCHEMISTRY 3205 MH – ZOT 3900
Name Title Phone Email
Chris Hughes Chair (949) 824-3379 cchughes@uci.edu
Celia Goulding Vice Chair (949) 824-0337 celia.goulding@uci.edu
Bessy Varela Department Administrator (949) 824-4739 bvarela@uci.edu
Cecilia Arceo Department Assistant (949) 824-4915 carceo1@uci.edu
Kathleen Gustafson Accounts Manager (949) 824-2209 kagustaf@uci.edu
Jamie Fukui Assistant Finance Analyst (949) 824-8609 jfukui@uci.edu
Joyce Penh Assistant to the Chair/Sr. Contracts & Grants Analyst (949) 824-3510 jpenh@uci.edu
Michael Cumsky Program Director, Masters in Biotech (949) 824-5878 mgcumsky@uci.edu
Morgan Oldham Graduate Admin, PHD & MS Program (949) 824-6034 morgano@uci.edu
Naomi Morrissette Graduate Adviser, PHD Program (949) 824-9243 nmorriss@uci.edu
FAX (949) 824-8551
Website http://mbb.bio.uci.edu
NEUROBIOLOGY & BEHAVIOR 2205 MH – ZOT 4550
Name Title Phone Email
Marcelo Wood Chair (949) 824-2259 mwood@uci.edu
Raju Metherate Vice Chair (949) 824-6141 raju.metherate@uci.edu
Sally Dabiri Department Administrator (949) 824-4727 sfdabiri@uci.edu
Jason Park Senior Finance Analyst, Supervisor (949) 824-5593 jpark@uci.edu
Tina Tran Senior Finance Analyst (949) 824-5251 tinatt5@uci.edu
Sharon Suh Finance Analyst (949) 824-4719 sharos2@uci.edu
Victoria Leung Finance Analyst (949)824-4529 vleung1@uci.edu
Jenifer Lee Purchasing Coordinator (949) 824-1569 jlee@uci.edu
Ian Parker Graduate Adviser/Professor (949) 824-7332 iparker@uci.edu
Naima Louridi Graduate Program Administrator (949) 824-8519 nlouridi@uci.edu
FAX (949) 824-2447
Website http://neurobiology.uci.edu

ENVIRONMENTAL HEALTH & SAFETY (EH&S)

5214 NS 2 – ZOT 1450
Name Title Phone Email
Chris Younghans-Haug EH & S Coordinator (949) 824-2221 chrisyh@uci.edu

GIVING

5214 NS 2 – ZOT 1450
Name Title Phone Email
Robert Avalos Executive Director, Development (949) 824-4428 robert.avalos@uci.edu

EXTERNAL RELATIONS & COMMUNICATIONS

4125 NS 2 – ZOT 4675
Name Title Phone Email
Robert Avalos Executive Director, Development (949) 824-4428 robert.avalos@uci.edu
Robyn Martinelli Director, Development (949) 824-2734 robyn.martinelli@uci.edu
Shannon Ingram Marketing and Communications Director (949) 824-9271 ingrams@uci.edu
Rahasson Ager Communications Associate (949) 824-6282 rager@uci.edu
Elizabeth-Ann Meredith Events and Outreach Associate (949) 824-4742 ayalaevents@uci.edu
FAX (949) 824-1917

IMAGE WORKS

2112 NS 1 – ZOT 1450
Name Title Phone Email
David Krueger Manager (949) 824-4631 dkrueger@uci.edu
FAX (949) 824-4291
Website http://imageworks.bio.uci.edu/

INSTRUCTIONAL SUPPORT

249 SH – ZOT 3900
Name Title Phone Email
Michael Leon Director (949) 824-5343 mleon@uci.edu
Larry Herman Academic Coordinator (949) 824-6037 lrherman@uci.edu
Owen Shimizu Staff Research Associate (949) 824-2833 oshimizu@uci.edu
Mi Lay Staff Research Associate (949) 824-6952 mlay@uci.edu
Doty Laurel Staff Research Associate (949) 824-6952 dlaurel@uci.edu
Yelena Kondratyeva Staff Research Associate (949) 824-6952 ykondrat@uci.edu
Bella Almourzaeva Staff Research Associate (949) 824-6952 ialmourz@uci.edu
Aris Lindo Lab Assistant (949) 824-3553
FAX (949) 824-2831

MEDIA CONTACT

5214 NS 2 – ZOT 1450
Name Title Phone Email
Shannon Ingram Marketing and Communications Director (949) 824-9271 ingrams@uci.edu

MENTOR PROGRAM & SPECIAL EVENTS

4123 NS 2 – ZOT 1450
Name Title Phone Email
Robyn Martinelli Director of Development (949) 824-2734 robyn.martinelli@uci.edu

OFFICE RESEARCH UNITS / CENTERS

CANCER RESEARCH INSTITUTE 236 Sprague – ZOT 3905
Name Title Phone Email
Miran Waterman (SoM) Director (949) 824-2885 marian.waterman@uci.edu
Nita Driscoll Assistant Director (949) 824-5886 nrdrisco@uci.edu
FAX (949) 824-4023
Website http://www.cri.bio.uci.edu/
CENTER FOR COMPLEX BIOLOGICAL SYSTEMS 4219 MH – ZOT 2275
Name Title Phone Email
Arthur Lander Director (949) 824-1721 adlander@uci.edu
Karen Martin Administrator (949) 824-3377 kymartin@uci.edu
Aracely Dean Administrative Analyst (949) 824-4120 cely.dean@uci.edu
Felix Grun Education Outreach Coordinator (949) 824-6432 fgrun@uci.edu
Peter McHale Project Scientist (949) 824-1693 mchalep@uci.edu
Cathy Nguyen Financial Analyst (949) 824-4305
Naomi Carreon Administrative Assistant (949) 824-5289 ncarreon@uci.edu
FAX (949) 824-6444
Website http://ccbs.uci.edu/
CENTER FOR THE NEUROBIOLOGY OF LEARNING AND MEMORY 307 QRL – ZOT 3800
Name Title Phone Email
Michael Yassa Director (949) 824-1687 myassa@uci.edu
FAX (949) 824-8439
Website http://www.cnlm.uci.edu/
CENTER FOR VIRUS RESEARCH 3221 MH – ZOT 3906
Name Title Phone Email
Bert Semler Director (949) 824-6074 blsemler@uci.edu
Crystal Spitale Administrator (949) 824-9314 spitalec@uci.edu
FAX (949) 824-9347
Website http://cvr.bio.uci.edu/
DEVELOPMENTAL BIOLOGY CENTER 4205 MH – ZOT 4540
Name Title Phone Email
Rahul Warrior Director (949) 824-9798 warrior@uci.edu
Website http://dbc.bio.uci.edu/
INSTITUTE FOR MEMORY IMPAIRMENTS AND NEUROLOGICAL DISORDERS (UCI MIND) 2642 GNRF – ZOT 4545
Name Title Phone Email
Andrea Tenner Director (949) 824-3268 atenner@uci.edu
Andrea Wasserman Administrator (949) 824-3253 awasserm@uci.edu
Luter Liu Financial Officer (949) 824-7061 lliu@uci.edu
Crystal Chen Assistant to Director (949) 824-0461 crystlc2@uci.edu
Judy Nicholls Finance Analyst (949) 824-2585 jnicholl@uci.edu
Linda Scheck Community Relations (949) 824-3251 lscheck@uci.edu
FAX (949) 824-0885
Website http:///www.mind.uci.edu
SUE AND BILL GROSS STEM CELL RESEARCH CENTER 101 Theory – ZOT 1705
Name Title Phone Email
Aileen Anderson Interim Director (949) 824-6750 aja@uci.edu
Goar Melkonian Building Manager (949) 824-8108 gmelkoni@uci.edu
Lila Sosnowska Executive Assistant (949) 824-9621 lila.s@uci.edu
Rozanne Lee Beach Senior Financial Analyst (949) 824-9290 rplee@uci.edu
Terri Pouliot Chief Administrative Officer (949) 824-2487 tpouliot@uci.edu
Message Line (949) 824-2911
FAX (949) 824-0264
Website http://stemcell.uci.edu/

RESEARCH

Name Title Phone Email
David Gardiner Associate Dean, Research (949) 824-2792 dmgardin@uci.edu
RESEARCH DEVELOPMENT 4127 NS 2 – ZOT 1450
Name Title Phone Email
Yerga Maharenna Training Grant Officer (949) 824-9698  ymeharen@uci.edu
Sennite Menche Training Grant Coordinator (949) 824-1078  smeche@uci.edu
Melinda Gormley Research Development Officer (949) 824-6771  mgormley@uci.edu
FAX (949) 824-0127
Website http://www.research.uci.edu/research-development/index.html

RESEARCH SUPPORT

ARBORETUM ECO EVO – ZOT 1459
Name Title Phone Email
Peter Bowler Director pabowler@uci.edu
Weigang Yang Manager (949) 824-5833 weigangy@uci.edu
FAX (949) 824-46146
FLY MEDIA FACILITY 4307 MH – ZOT 2275
Name Title Phone Email
Andres Flores Laboratory Asst (949) 824-5957 andresf@uci.edu
GREENHOUSE 109 BSA – ZOT 1450
Name Title Phone Email
Weigang Yang Manager (949) 824-6049 weigangy@uci.edu
FAX (949) 824-3035
OPTICAL BIO CORE 2114 MH – ZOT 2275 824-4110
Name Title Phone Email
Larry Marsh Director (949) 824-6677 jlmarsh@uci.edu
Adeela Syed Lab Manager (949) 824-3226 adeelas@uci.edu
University Laboratory Animal Resources (ULAR) ZOT 1310 
Phone (949) 824-7788
FAX (949) 824-2003

STUDENT SERVICES

GRADUATE STUDENT AFFAIRS
Name Title Phone Email
Michael Mulligan Associate Dean, Graduate Affairs (949) 824-8433 rmmullig@uci.edu
CELLULAR & MOLECULAR BIOSCIENCES (CMB) 4139 NS 2 – ZOT 3915
Name Title Phone Email
Melanie Cocco Director (949) 824-4487 mcocco@uci.edu
Gary Roman CMB Graduate Programs Director (949) 824-6226 groman@uci.edu
FAX (949) 824-1965
INP PROGRAM 4145 NS 2 – ZOT 3915
Name Title Phone Email
Karina Cramer Director (949) 824-4211 cramerk@uci.edu
Gary Roman INP Graduate Programs Director (949) 824-6226 groman@uci.edu
FAX (949) 824-4150
OUTREACH / RESEARCH TRAINING & MINORITY SCIENCES PROGRAM 1331 BS 3 – ZOT 2527
Name Title Phone Email
Dr. Luis Mota-Bravo Director (949) 824-5680 lmota@uci.edu
Dr. Marlene de la Cruz Associate Director (949) 824-2589 marlene@uci.edu
Reham Riad Administrative Assistant (949) 824-3438  riadr@uci.edu
Jorge Cruz Administrative Assistant (949) 824-6463
Dr. Andre Tatarenkov Associate Specialist (949) 824-4747 tatarenk@uci.edu
Olga Tatarenkova Junior Specialist (949)824-2835
Lab Assistant (949) 824-2835
FAX (949) 824-6599
UNDERGRADUATE STUDENT AFFAIRS OFFICE 1011 BS 3 – ZOT 1460
Name Title Phone Email
Michael Leon Associate. Dean, Undergraduate Affairs (949) 824-5343 mleon@uci.edu
Counselor Front Desk (949) 824-5318
Jenna Bague Interim Director of Student Affairs (949) 824-0326 jbague@uci.edu
Minh Dinh Degree certification (last name beginning with A-L) (949) 824-8589 mddinh@uci.edu
Kristin Fung EASE Program, Bio 199 Research, Extension/ACCESS (949) 824-4702 ksfung@uci.edu
Hetty Ha UCI Ayala School Postbaccalaureate Premedical Program, Bio Sci 3A (949) 824-2682 hyha@uci.edu
Marsha Holland Bio Sci Department Tutoring, Honors Convocation (949) 824-4212 mholland@uci.edu
Sherry Ong Bio Sci 199 Research (949) 824-7626 ongsh@uci.edu
Susie Schafer Excellence in Research (949) 824-4602 slschafe@uci.edu
Kathy Terp Degree certification (last name beginning with M-Z) (949) 824-5873 kdterp@uci.edu
Diana Tien Letters of recommendation, student organizations, website updates and email announcements (949) 824-5319 dtien@uci.edu
Alejandra Gutierrez Bio 194S Coordinator, EASE Program (949) 824-3760  a.gutierrez@uci.edu
Roman Guerrero Student Affairs Officer romang@uci.edu
Peer Academic Advisers Student experience: courseload, research, course/instructor information, etc. BioPAA@uci.ed
FAX (949) 824-4697