The Francisco J. Ayala School of Biological Sciences was one of the original schools founded when the University campus first opened in 1965. Dean Edward A. Steinhaus, founding Dean, recruited his four founding department chairs and initial faculty of 17 professors, following the model the University had established which required every founding faculty member to be an outstanding researcher and good teacher.

Deans of the School of Biological Sciences

  • Edward A. Steinhaus, Founding Dean, 1963-67
  • James L. McGaugh, 1967-70
  • Howard A. Schneiderman, 1970-79
  • Grover C. Stephens, 1982-86
  • L. Dennis Smith, 1987-90
  • Elvera R. Ehrenfeld, 1992-96
  • Shin Lin, 1997-2000
  • Susan V. Bryant, 2000-2006
  • Albert F. Bennett, 2007-2013
  • Frank M. LaFerla, 2014-present

Sign up for our e-newsletter to learn more about upcoming events and school news!